It All Happens In The Dark

Just another WordPress.com site

A Real Fixer-Upper

The Haunting in Connecticut (2009)

I’ve been wanting to try a different kind of review for a while now and I’ve been toying with how to pull it off. I think I’ve finally decided to call it “Show and Tell.” So let us begin.

Show:

Now – can you tell what this movie is about and what happens? If your guess is: Every haunted house cliche in the book, a crab for no real reason, bodies hidden in walls for decades that magically don’t decompose or smell, Virginia Madsen wishing she was in a better movie, an evil shower curtain and “corpse bothering” – well then you win this round.

Just so you know – ectoplasm has been wholeheartedly rejected and discredited by the scientific community and the Discovery Channel “documentary” on this “haunting” was much, much creepier. As Madsen’s character says at the end of the film: “Consider yourself warned.” C

2 responses to “A Real Fixer-Upper

  1. James December 4, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Loving the new kind of review. I enjoyed this film – and as your post reveals, it was chock full of striking imagery and creepy moments.

    • itallhappensinthedark December 4, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      Oh, I’m glad you liked what I did with the review. I wasn’t sure it was really a good idea or not. I thought the film was exceptionally well directed and very impression on a visual level, but the script was just so, so weak. I’m loving that you’ve declared this Friday the 13th month, by the way.

Leave a Reply

